The Town of Indian River Shores

Back to main site.

Town Council

The Town of Indian River Shores operates under a Council - Manager system of government in which the legislative branch and the town manager administer its policies.

Election. The five-member legislative branch, or Town Council, is elected at large by the residents for a 4-year term. Elections are held on Tuesday following the first Monday in November of even-numbered years. In 2022, it will be on November 8th.
Open positions are staggered, so that there will be either two or three seats open for election every two years. Following elections, the Council selects the Mayor and Vice Mayor from among themselves at an organizational meeting. All elected officials are subject to a term limit of two consecutive terms.

Duties of the Council. As the Town's legislative body, the Council determines all policies, adopts ordinances and resolutions, approves appropriations and the town's annual budgets, sets the tax rate, and appoints the Charter officers for town manager, town clerk, and town attorney.

The Town Attorney keeps an office in downtown Vero Beach, while the Mayor and Council, other than attending meetings on behalf of the Town, work from their homes.

An historical list of elected and appointed officials is found here. Click here for a brief biography of each council member.

Please see the Elections page if you are interested in running for a position on the Town Council.

Bob Auwaerter headshot at Town 9-22-21 custom
Mary Alice Smith Oath of Office 11-5
John McCord dehazed
Mary Alice Smith outside S20 ws size
ChrisHendricks 2020 for website
BT Foley 11-19-18 swearing in
Jesse Carroll
Council Chambers Interior
Councilman Sam Carroll being sworn into office
Councilman Foley being sworn into Council

Elected officials for the Town:

Brian Foley,        Mayor


Brian Foley

Elected 11-2018
Through 11-2022

Jesse L. "Sam" Carroll, Jr., Vice Mayor


Vice Mayor
Jesse L. "Sam" Carroll

Elected 11-2018
Through 11-2022

Christian Hendricks, Councilmember


Christian Hendricks

Elected 11-2020
Through 11-2024

Robert "Bob" Auwaerter,  Councilmember


Robert F. "Bob" Auwaerter

Appointed 9-2021
Through 11-2024

Mary Alice Smith, Councilwoman


Mary Alice Smith

Elected 11-2020
Through 11-2024

The elected officials may be contacted through the Town Clerk's office at (772) 231-1771, extension 121, and receive their mail using the Town Hall address of 6001 N. Highway A-1-A, Indian River Shores, FL 32963-1014.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Florida has a very broad public records law. Most written communications to or from municipal officials are public records and are available to the public and media upon request. Your e-mail communications may be subject to public disclosure as part of a public records request. If you do not want the potential for your e-mail address to be released, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact us by phone or in writing.-- F.S. 668.606